Etsy's digital-to-print test, and how to opt out
If a buyer can now turn what they bought from you into a mug or a framed poster, that's not something you built or priced — it's a new Etsy test, and here's what its own help centre says about it.
Etsy is testing a way for buyers to turn a digital file they've just bought into a physical print — a poster, a canvas, a mug — fulfilled by a separate company. If you sell digital downloads and haven't heard about this yet, you're not behind: eligible listings "may be included in this test automatically," in Etsy's words, rather than shops being asked first.
What's actually happening
Etsy's own description: after a buyer purchases an eligible digital file, they may see an option — on a post-purchase page such as the order confirmation — to order it as a printed item through a separate checkout. That checkout isn't with you. Ventur Editions, a third-party print provider, sells and fulfils the printed item: it's Ventur Editions' own listing, it gets Ventur Editions' own reviews, and if anything goes wrong with the print, Ventur Editions handles the support — not you.
Is your shop included?
This is opt-out, not opt-in. Etsy's help centre says your digital listings may be included in the test automatically if three things are true: your shop is based in the US or Canada, you don't already sell a physical version of the same design or run your own print-on-demand integration, and — the one Etsy doesn't spell out — "the file meets the print partner's requirements for high-quality printing." No definition of that bar is given, so there's no way to know from the outside whether a particular listing clears it.
How to opt out, if you want to
- 1
Go to Shop Manager
From your shop dashboard.
- 2
Select Settings
Then Options.
- 3
Find "Allow buyers to purchase digital prints"
Select Disabled.
What opting out doesn't do
That's the same limit every downloaded file has always had, stated plainly for once. Updating a file after people have bought it covers the same ceiling from a different angle: once a buyer has a file, nothing — not this setting, not a repointable link, not Etsy itself — reaches back into a copy already on their device.
How a buyer actually orders a print
Worth knowing because it changes what "eligible" means in practice. Etsy's buyer-facing article describes the buyer choosing Add file on the print listing, then picking one of three sources: Use last purchase, select from Etsy purchases, or Upload from your computer. That third option means the printed item isn't necessarily built from the specific file you delivered at all — a buyer could, in principle, attach a different file entirely. Available products include indoor wall tapestries, framed posters, matte canvases, metal art signs, rolled posters, coffee mugs, canvas tote bags, greeting cards and a crewneck sweatshirt.
What this doesn't touch
| Question | What Etsy's articles say |
|---|---|
| Does a bad print reflect on my shop's reviews? | No stated connection either way in Etsy's articles — the printed item "has its own listing and reviews," separate from yours. |
| Does this apply to made-to-order digital listings, or only instant ones? | Not stated. The eligibility criteria don't distinguish between the two categories covered on the made-to-order page. |
| If I deliver by a linked PDF rather than uploading the design file to the listing, is the PDF itself what gets assessed for print eligibility? | Not stated, and not something this page can verify. Etsy names a file-quality bar without defining it, and the buyer can separately upload their own file at order time — so there's no confirmed answer here, only an open question. |
Where AccessDrop fits
It doesn't, directly — AccessDrop has no part in Etsy's print test, can't opt a shop in or out on your behalf, and the setting above is the only lever that does. What's true either way: AccessDrop's own delivery PDF and repointable link work the same regardless of this setting, because they're about getting the right file into a buyer's hands reliably, not about what happens to it afterwards. And the limit this test makes explicit — that nothing reaches a file once it's downloaded — is the same one that applies to a repointable link: it updates what the PDF points at, not what a buyer already has. £19 once, for a year, up to five links. Drive, Dropbox or Canva still host the files; AccessDrop doesn't.
See what the buyer gets
A real example delivery PDF and what the weekly access check catches.
See a sample delivery